Model 5 recap

Guest jcmjrt

Guest jcmjrt

I just got a pair of Model 5's yesterday and they are my first. I got them to go with a fisher 500C that I'm restoring and needed some "tube" speakers. Anyway,I know that the switches on the back don't work. I'm not sure why yet. I need to pull the crossover and troubleshoot it. I was wondering if I should just go ahead and order caps and recap the speaker as a matter of course? There are many different caps - types, qualities, etc - and I was wondering if anyone had played with recapping these speakers and had some recommendations? Anybody do anything other than just replace caps....like cascading caps or putting in a high quality bypass cap...or...?? I'm a crossover newbie but I've been doing a little reading on the subject...and there's a lot of science as well as art...

Also, anyplace to get the logos from? new grill cloth that looks like what's on there now? The speakers are in pretty good shape but the grill cloth on one speaker has a wear point and the logos are missing.

I'm looking forward to making them sing!!

>Components for this type of power supply weren't nearly as reliable 40 odd years ago as they are today.<

I know nothing about this model speaker. Nothing.

Over in the AR forum there has been ongoing debate about replacing capacitors. I didn't want to do it, but once I did it I found that there is ample reason to re-cap them.

Apparently these old capacitors really do deteriorate. If their capacitance tests "good" they most likely still suffer from increased ESR and dissapation factor and they might even leak.

The problem, to which I haven't found a solution, is in order not to change anything about the way the crossover was originally designed to function, you really need to match the ESR of the original capacitor *when it was new.*

Trouble is, that information is not generally available because manufacturers have been bought, gone out of business, long ago quit making that cap, etc.