KLH Model 5 Crossover Information

administrator

• 1 year later...
Guest Hoffman Tenor

Are there any good "How -to" references available to help with this crossover repair or replacement? I recently acquired a pair of KLH Model 5's, and one of the speakers seems to be having similar issues with the crossover (no signal going to the tweeter). I've never worked "under the hood" of speakers before, but I would love to get these working properly.

Any tips or advice from the forum is appreciated.

THanks,

You must remove the woofer to gain access to the crossover. Remove the stuffing (use a mask and gloves). You'll also need to remove the nuts under the input binding posts on the back. The crossover is secured to the inside of the cabinet with four screws. Disconnect the speaker leads. Note the wiring colors and destinations before removing the wirenuts. The crossover should now be removable. Be careful to save the fiber insulating washer(s) on the input terminal posts. My Fives had no tweeter output from either cabinet. The same dual-section capacitor was bad in each. I replaced them all with polypropylenes. Check the condition of the ground connections at the terminal strips. They supply ground interconnections and were loose/oxidized on both of my crossovers. If you are not experienced or comfortable with replacing the parts, check with a local service shop. It shouldn't be too expensive to have the caps replaced and the ground terminals interconnected. By the way, this info is for the crossover assembly as shown in my photo in the KLH section. I have another crossover assembly that is printed circuit based, probably a later version. The circuit appears identical but the inductors are of a different type.

Check your surrounds for air leakage. They are treated cloth and probably need to be recoated. I tried some diluted glue recommended by Stephen at Layne Audio, but the surrounds are leaking air again after a year.