Acoustic Research AR4x Speakers

Guest toothsls

Guest toothsls

I'm a total novice on this sort of equipment. I recently picked up a pair of AR4x speakers. I was wondering how I would go about removing the speaker grilles to clean them and inspect the speakers themselves. Also, if anyone had any comments or hints about these units I would appreciate them. Thanks.

While the bass isn't as deep as with the larger AR speakers, the AR-4x's are great speakers. Congratulations on finding a pair. The speaker grills are attached with a little bit of glue and a bunch of narrow, long staples. I was able to remove the staples by gently insterting the corner of a screwdriver under them and then prying up. Then you can grab the staple with pliers to pull them out. They you have to lift the grill frames and try to pop loose any glue without breaking the frames. It's somewhat of a slow, tedious process, but should work fine. Maybe others have suggestions of a better way to do this. I'm not sure of the best way to re-install the grills, as the staples are difficult to reuse. I wonder if a bit of Velcro might be the way to go.

The main problem encountered with these speakers seems to be the volume controls for the tweeters. They tend to become corroded and develope bad spots or quit working altogether. If needed, they can be disassembled and cleaned, or Layne Audio sells replacements.

--Geoff

>I'm a total novice on this sort of equipment. I recently

>picked up a pair of AR4x speakers. I was wondering how I

>would go about removing the speaker grilles to clean them and

>inspect the speakers themselves. Also, if anyone had any

>comments or hints about these units I would appreciate them.

>Thanks.

>While the bass isn't as deep as with the larger AR speakers,

>the AR-4x's are great speakers. Congratulations on finding a

>pair. The speaker grills are attached with a little bit of

>glue and a bunch of narrow, long staples. I was able to remove