AR-11 damage / repair....?

Guest Mr Hobo

Guest Mr Hobo

i've come across some old AR-11 speakers in an old house that my step-grandma was movin out of, and i have some questions, since i'm kinda new to the speaker world:

when i first got them, i noticed that the foam around one woofer was in the process of deteriorating, and the foam on the other was almost completely gone. i didnt know much about the speakers, and just figured i'd run em till they ran no more, and get some new ones; but after some research, i've decided that i want to get them either a) repaired, or B) repair the foam myself. BUT....

is it possible that i've done any permanent damage over the past couple of weeks by using them without the supporting foam on one woofer? also, how expensive would it be if i took them to a shop to get refoamed? and lastly, i've found an AR refoaming kit on ebay for about 20 bucks, which seems reasonable, but i've never done anything of the sort before; would you recommend that i try it?

ordering new woofers is not an option, i dont have that much money, and i like the speakers too much to throw them out...also, on the foam website, it says i need to tell them if the angle of the foam is flat or sloped; i'm still a bit confused, anyone with AR-11s out there that can enlighten me?

thanks SO much for your time, i LOVE these speakers and wanna keep usin them for a while.

Guest Bret

>is it possible that i've done any permanent damage over the past couple of weeks by using them without the supporting foam on one woofer?<

Yes, but maybe not, too.

>also, how expensive would it be if i took them to a shop to get refoamed?<

Likely anywhere from $30-40. You could probably get it entirely reconed for $70. Whatever you do, do not throw them away. They are worth repairing even if the voice coils are ruined.