AR-3 problem

I have a set of AR-3's that are completely original except for the replacement pots I put on them.

I have noticed that one speaker sounds completely flat compared to my other speaker recently. My wife described it best by saying it sounded like listening to music with water in your ears. I've determined that it is just a total lack of clarity/brightness in the midrange.

I originally thought that that the midrange was out, but it is still producing sound. The tweeter still sounds very bright and the woofer sounds great. Is it possible that the midrange has died to cause this problem or maybe it is a failure in the crossover?

I have thought about swapping the mid drivers between the right and left speaker to help troubleshoot my problem, but I've had some bad experiences with aluminum wire before.

Does anyone have any expert advice on what the problem with this speaker may be?

Thanks,

Steve