AR Model 14?

Guest Mark Robbins

Guest Mark Robbins

Hi all, newbie here with a question regarding the AR Model 14 speaker.

I found this ad on Craigslist and am interested in finding as much info as possible on these speakers:

AR 14

01151401041001030020071202edd9dbf6c05db671b400e6cb.jpg

I tried looking through the info section of this site, but as far as i can see it is not represented.

Any opinions on this speaker? How would you describe the bass extension?

Cheers,

Mark

Vancouver, BC

From a post of mine a few years ago--

The AR-14 was introduced in early 1976, as part of the "second wave" of Advanced Development Division introductions. The 10Pi, 11, and MST were the first ADD intros in March 1975. The 16, then the 12 and 14 followed shortly thereafter.

The 14 was designed mostly as AR’s assault on Advent’s market leadership position with their hugely successful Large Advent. AR decided to use the 10" woofer in a slightly larger enclosure—the same volume as the cabinet for the 12" woofer—in order to extend the low-end response a little deeper. The lowered system resonance had to be balanced against the potential for over-excursion of the 10" driver, so ultimate power-handling was a major consideration during the 12’s and 14’s development.

In the end, the low-end response came out to –3db @44Hz, very good performance for a 10" system, but still a ways away from the –3dB @35Hz of the 11 and 10PI, and still not as deep as the Large Advent.