The Culture and Mood of America as it relates to audio circa 1967

soundminded

For those too young to know except second or third hand or those who have simply forgotten, I think this is a great opportunity for those of us who were there to talk about what (we remember) it was like in the heyday of the Classic New England speaker golden age and coincidentally at the time Bose 901 appeared on the scene.

Much of what we take for granted today didn't exist, wasn't even dreamt of. The computer you are on right now looking at this seemed like it might be a couple of hundred years in the future, its very notion inconceivable. I recall reading an article around the time I graduated college in 1969 "Will the 4 function calculator ever break $100" and a hundred dollars was a lot of money in those days. Computer programming was Fortran 4H and Algol and you typed punch cards, left your deck and came back for your printout the next day usually with a list of error messages (they only gave you the first error on each card so you might have to resubmit two or three times before a program actually ran.) Gasoline was around 25 cents a gallon, cigarettes were around 25 cents a pack, and McDonalds advertised about their meals that "You get change back from your dollar." The war in Vietnam was raging and there were protestors all over college campuses around the nation. The country was divided into those who supported the war and those opposed. Lots of college students were experimenting with drugs, especially the dangerous hallucinogen LSD while use of cannibus was common. But in engineering schools, any such indulgence would get you kicked out, not only if you were caught but more likely because you could not keep up with difficult courses unleass your mind was clear, you'd simply flunk out. Most people drank beer and hard liquor, many smoked cigarettes, it was very common.