Dynaco A-50 tweeter help needed?

Guest landcruisergeek

Guest landcruisergeek

Hello, first off, I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to Dynaco, I just picked up my first set today! I should also note that I am a speaker novice.

After hooking up my newfound A-50s, I noticed one of the tweeters just didn't sound right. On a close ear listening test I detected a consistent faint "buzz" as opposed to crisp actual sound.

Any ideas on what the problem might be or if a novice can even diagnose and repair? Is this a drop in tweeter replacement? I removed the screws on the cover ring, but can't figure out how to actual get the tweeter out. My only other speaker repair was a direct screw out/screw in on a set of Polks...is it much more involved on these Dynacos?

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions!

1837.txt

1838.txt

>Hello, first off, I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to

>Dynaco, I just picked up my first set today! I should also

>note that I am a speaker novice.

>

>After hooking up my newfound A-50s, I noticed one of the

>tweeters just didn't sound right. On a close ear listening

>test I detected a consistent faint "buzz" as opposed

>to crisp actual sound.

>

>Any ideas on what the problem might be or if a novice can even

>diagnose and repair? Is this a drop in tweeter replacement?

>I removed the screws on the cover ring, but can't figure out

>how to actual get the tweeter out. My only other speaker

>repair was a direct screw out/screw in on a set of Polks...is

>it much more involved on these Dynacos?

>

>Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions!

Hi John;

First, a very wise purchase for an authoritive speaker system.

First turn off the stereo, do not disconnect the speaker lead wires, turn the treble control to maximum, and lay the questionable speaker cabinet on it's back.

By gently prying under the rim on opposite sides with small standard screwdrivers, the tweeter will pop up out of the hole.