small advent surrounds help

Guest crawlspace

Guest crawlspace

Hi, I could use some help. I have the small advent (1976) and just received the new foam surrounds. I cleaned off the old foam and noticed that the surround is glued to the bottom of the cone. Is there a trick to doing this? This is my first time doing surrounds.

I did a search on this and found one person who said they glued it to the front of the cone, not the back, and it works fine.

Is this an option?

Thanks Mike

I've done a few Large Advents with the surround glued to the back of the cone. I simply put a thin bead of glue on the surround, let it dry for a few minutes to get tacky, then gently wiggled it over the cone until I could push the surround up from the back and attach to the cone. I then smoothed it with my fingers to make sure it was attached all around. Then I attched it to the frame, making sure the woofer was centered (no VC rubbing). Hope this helps. :)

Guest crawlspace

AFter letting the surrounds dry, I put the first woofer back and it worked great. I then put the 2nd woofer in and no sound. I took out the first woofer and tried it in the other speaker, and it did work. So I think that I have a bad woofer.

I noticed on the woofer that doesn't work that when I move it up and down, I can hear a scratching sound, something is rubbing. If I move the woofer slightly, and then move it up, the sound goes away.

Does anyone know, do I need to refoam this woofer making it straighter or is there a deeper issue?

Thanks Mike

>AFter letting the surrounds dry, I put the first woofer back

>and it worked great. I then put the 2nd woofer in and no

>sound. I took out the first woofer and tried it in the other

>speaker, and it did work. So I think that I have a bad

>woofer.

>

>I noticed on the woofer that doesn't work that when I move it

>up and down, I can hear a scratching sound, something is

>rubbing. If I move the woofer slightly, and then move it up,

>the sound goes away.

>