KLH model four

Guest archie

Hello, this is my first post on this site so I hope I post in the right thread, KLH.

I recently bought a pair of KLH Model Fours. The twin tweeters do not work in one of the speakers. From the research I've done It's most likely the caps, not the tweeters. Problem is the cabinets are completely sealed and the drivers are epoxied to the front baffle. I've managed to removed the grills without breaking them but that does me no good in accessing the caps. I know I can cut through the back but I'm wondering if carefully prying up the back plate will access the caps. Unless they are glued on the back of the front baffle? Suggestions welcome.

And I forgot to introduce myself. My name is Ray and I've been collecting audio stuff for nigh on 50 years, so I'm old, which is why I sometimes forget things. No formal training, just playing it by ear (no pun intended). I don't consider myself an audio sophisticate, I only have a small collection of vintage speakers. So far my skills are confined to recapping and refoaming along with some cabinet restorations.

This is the bane of early KLH collectors, and a tough one. We've had input on this forum in the past with several ideas....one can pry the cabinet open at the baffle board, but certain KLH cabinets were very well put together - as in the 12-ply marine plywood with rabbet joints at the corners. I couldn't bring myself to do this, the sound of cracking speaker cabinet wood gives me chills! The method I think is best is to cut a round hole in the back or the bottom of the cabinet with a bevel of say 45 degrees. This way when put the piece back in place it will fit like a cork in a bottle. This could be sealed with a compound and removeved again if necessary. Any way you do it, your're going to do some damage to a classic speaker. Chances are it is the caps that are defective, causing the tweeters to not funtion.

I myself would be interested in any other ideas of how to approach this problem.