Model 5 Repair?

Guest nobody020

Guest nobody020

Hi,

I just bought pair of KLH Model 5s.. Hooked them up and then discovered that one of my tweeters is nonfunctional. During the moving process, some jackass in my house "hefted" the speaker a few times, so I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it.

Anyway, I'm looking for a replacement tweeter or some help with repairing the speaker -- I've never done any type of speaker work before and don't know how to start (but I'm not too shabby with electronics in general).

Would appreciate any information and help.

>Hi,

>

>I just bought pair of KLH Model 5s.. Hooked them up and then

>discovered that one of my tweeters is nonfunctional. During

>the moving process, some jackass in my house "hefted" the

>speaker a few times, so I'm not sure if that has anything to

>do with it.

>

>Anyway, I'm looking for a replacement tweeter or some help

>with repairing the speaker -- I've never done any type of

>speaker work before and don't know how to start (but I'm not

>too shabby with electronics in general).

>

>Would appreciate any information and help.

Hi there;

I'm not sure what the word "hefted" means?

I am not that familiar with KLH speakers.

Do you mean the tweeter on one side or in one enclosure, as the Fives each have 2 tweeters?

Do they have pots or switches on the rear of the enclosures?

If there are pots turns them up and down to clean their contacts or change the switch position to bright or high.

Let us know as to these results and we'll continue on from there.

Good luck with these great speakers.

Hi,

I had a similar situation.......when I got my Model 5's, one of the tweeters was not operating. I did a "search" here and discovered that in most cases, the crossover is at fault, and not that the tweeter is dead. I was going to replace the capacitors, but I found a crossover for $30, popped it in, and now the tweeter works perfectly.