AR TSW-410 refoam oddity

Guest Kendalcio

Guest Kendalcio

On the 8" woofer for each of these AR TSW 410 speakers (3-way), the fiberboard gasket had been glued first to the metal frame, and then the foam surround had been glued on top of this gasket. The gasket does fill in the entire lip of the frame, except for the screw holes, of course.

I am not experienced in these things but that reverses the order for installation of the gasket and surround in most of the reading and slidehows and videos regarding refoaming that I have come accross.

I bought the speakers as demos in 1992 for about $140 from a large home furnishings retailer in Albuquerque that also had a fair amount of low and mid-fi audio equipment. There was a tear in one of the grill cloths, which I figured was the main reason they were discounted.

Since the foam surrounds need to be refoamed, I have to decide if I want to simply redo the speakers as they were, or to "correct" the manufacturing "error" and glue the foam to the frame first, and then install the gasket on top of the foam surround edge as is typically done.

Obviously if I simply redo them as originally made, I would not have to pry up the gasket, simplifying things considerably (I can get the old foam and most of the glue off the gasket without damaging its surface).

If they sounded good that way before, maybe I should just stick with the program. To be honest, I have always liked the sound of these speakers IF they have been placed 29 inches off the floor and about 2 feet from the back wall, and they have been dependable for 15 years.

On the other hand, am I missing out on something sonically?

These 8" woofers have an AR stamp on the bottom of the round magnet housing, so I would think they came from manufacturing this way. They are alledged to be "carbon loaded polypropylene" though I have no idea what that refers to, possibly the cone.

The 6.5" midranges, which will also need refoaming soon, do not have a gasket of any kind.