AR2AX Crossover Schematic

Guest baumgrenze

Guest baumgrenze

I am not an electrical engineer, nor do I pretend to be one.

I started a new thread because I found some historic posts commenting on the crossover schematic for the AR2AX in the library. (If you are looking for it, it is accessed via the Library>AR>Documents (which is nearly the last item in the long list, and easily overlooked.

I am rebuilding a pair of AR2AX's and have found much useful information here. I find that my crossover came from the factory wired differently than the schematic shows. My S/N's are 48757 and 46094. I bought my speakers new from AR, mail order I believe, in 1967.

Here is what I find in the crossover circuit.

The capacitors are from Industrial Condenser Corp. of Chicago, part # 5203. They are in a waxed box.

The tweeter has black and yellow leads. The black lead goes to the "T post" and, along the way is attached to one end of the HI pot winding. The other end of the HI pot winding is attached to the 4 μF capacitor carrying a black lead. The yellow lead is attached to the pot wiper. This is consistent with the library diagram.

The midrange has green and yellow leads. The green lead goes to the "T post" and along the way is attached to one end of the MID pot winding. The other end of the MID pot winding is attached to the 6 μF capacitor carrying a green lead. The yellow lead is attached to the pot wiper. The connection to the "T post" is NOT consistent with the library diagram.

The woofer has red and blue leads. The red lead is connected to the "2 post." (The one in the center of the three posts.) The blue lead is connected to the inductor coil. It is pinned to the case above the coil. The other end of the inductor coil is attached to the blue or common lead on the capacitor package. This is consistent with the library diagram.