Cables designed with AR in mind

ninohernes

Hello all!

I have a new product to offer in addition to my normal recording services. I now hand assembling premium speaker cables. I offer a special cable specifically designed for AR speakers with 3 terminals, so that silly little jumper can be removed. I also offer standard speaker cables too. These are not your ordinary speaker cables. All of my cables use twisted pair 12 gauge conductors resulting in a 6 gauge cable! Bi-wire cables are also available. Visit www.srctape.com/cables for more details.

Since I am not really doing this for the money, I am doing it as a service to the community of AR users, I would be glad to tell you what I am using so you can make these cables.

I am using Gepco 4 conductor and 8 conductor pro audio speaker cable. This type of cable is normally used in live sound (I am a live sound engineer) and it dawned on me that it would make excellent home hifi speaker cable. I terminate it using Cardas silver solder, and gold plated spades and banana plugs.

I find it impossible to understand what advantage these cables would offer over more conventional cables. Could you please explain not in subjective terms but in what electrical network parameters would be improved (ie how many ohms, millihenries, and microfarads would be reduced for a given length) and how this translates into improved speaker performance (ie reduced IM or THD of how many percent or flatter response by how many db, for which models, and at what frequencies.)

All I have done is created a semi bi wire cable for AR speakers with the jumper between terminal "2" and "T". Its just another positive lead.