Aquired a pair of AR-3's now what?

Double_D

Firstly hello CSPDF!  First post here.  I know these AR-3's are supposed to sound great, and have a great following among the collectors of these early AR's. A guy I work with just loaded them into my suv today at work as I have a back on the mend, herniated L5 disk and shouldn't be lifting these heavy dudes. We agreed tentatively on a modest price, he needed the room more than anything.  I am very new to vintage stereo scene but have a keen eye and ear, so I believe.  I will do my best to get some pictures uploaded this evening, should I even try to put music to them at this stage of the game??  I've never restored a set of speakers but I am in the process of getting a pair of "The NEW ADVENT" Large drivers re coned professionally, got those a couple weeks back.  I am thinking if someone has some interest I would sell them on as I have limited speaker restoration experience. I did notice the do not have proper grills but an open cell type brown foam in 2" x 3/4" rectangle block(s)repeating pattern which is surely not correct. Cabinets are in rough condition(scuffs and scrapes) by my best estimate but tweets, mids, and mains look quite nice.

Should I try to listen to them?

I have a Pioneer sx-980 that produces 80wpc into 8ohm and can go down to 4 ohm load.  Thanks so much for the expert direction I know I will find the guidance I need 

On 8/7/2019 at 12:31 PM, Double_D said:

I have a Pioneer sx-980 that produces 80wpc into 8ohm and can go down to 4 ohm load. 

Hey, Double_D, and welcome to the forum. The sx-980 is rated at 95wpc into 4 ohms, and assuming the receiver is fully functional, should provide plenty of juice for your speakers.