Hi, New With New To Me AR-2ax Pair

sarals

Hi everyone!  I'm new to the forum.  I'm also new to vintage AR speakers, not having owned the brand since 1972-1973 when I had a pair of AR-4x's in college. They weren't "vintage" then!  I am a woman of a certain age, and as of late I've been nostalgically resurrecting the things that gave me great joy in my youth.  I still have most of one of the stereo systems I had in college, save for my beloved Larger Advents, which I regrettably sold ages ago.  I do have a restored pair of Smaller Advents, connected to my Harmon Kardon 630.  I've decided to expand the nostalgia trip, and go for that "New England Sound" by acquiring some vintage AR speakers.  Ideally, I'd prefer AR3a's or AR-5's, but I decided to start with an affordable pair of AR-2ax's, this pair:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Acoustic-Research-AR-2ax-Acoustic-Suspension-Loudspeaker-System-Two-Speakers/222633422990?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

Dedicated forums are a wonderful place to glean advice, learn, make friends, and muse.  My first question to you fine folks about these speakers is the obvious - which refoam kit do I need to buy for the woofers?  I plan to check the capacitors, and they'll probably need replacing.  Hopefully the tweeters work.  I'm sure those robust midranges are okay, but if they aren't, there's a plethora of them available out there in the wild.

I know I'm not going to have the level of detail or imaging that the 3a's or 5's would offer, but for now, the 2ax's are a good place to start, I think.

Thank you in advance, and it's nice to say hi to you all!

• Replies 124
  • Created
  • Last Reply
59 minutes ago, sarals said: