Hivi qr1in AR5 - stoopid noob questions

MoPhoX

Hi folks, so time flies and i finally tried to install the Hivi tweeters in my AR5s. Carefully removed the tape holding the very thin copper wires, then took the tweeter out. I have zero soldering experience (and practically no knowledge of electronics), but just wanted to see if the Hivis worked. I carefully attached the copper wires to the new tweeter terminal, but no tweeter sound. rather than messing anything else up, i put the original ones back.  So now what- there are other things that could be wrong, but I'm not sure i have the skill set to figure it out. I'd really like to hear what these are supposed to sound like. (I also still need to recap my KLH Model 17s, but that's another story.)

3 hours ago, MoPhoX said:

I have zero soldering experience (and practically no knowledge of electronics), but just wanted to see if the Hivis worked. I carefully attached the copper wires to the new tweeter terminal, but no tweeter sound. rather than messing anything else up, i put the original ones back.

Did the original tweeters work before you removed them to install the Hivis?  Did you detach the thin leads from the tweeters or the wiring terminal block?  Are you sure the pots are not the problem?  Can you supply  close-up photos showing the original tweeters after you reinstalled them and without the tape.   I am sure someone with knowledge will help but these are among the questions that will be asked.

Adams 

The orig tweeters did not work at all. The pots worked for the mids, although they were a bit scratchy. I used the toilet paper roll to listen for anything from the tweeters, and there was nothing. 

The leads were detached from the tweeters not the terminal. That was probably a mistake. I don’t even see where the copper wire attached to the tweeter. Under the tape it was thicker, it was thinner than a cat hair where it met the tweeter. Now it’s just taped to hold it in place while I figure out the next move.