Early Model Six - what am I getting into?

Robthomp

Hi everyone,

I just bought a pair of early model sixes this morning from a retired audio guy on CL.  I've read a lot about these speakers in the last week.  I had a lengthy discussion with the seller and I read up on the challenges of working on the early sealed versions before taking the plunge.   I'm still fairly new at this hobby, but I like challenges and problem solving.

The high range is not really present in the sound, and the seller and I both bet that a recap is needed to get the tweeters working.   The bass sounds good, and the cabs are in great shape.  My plan is to go in through the back plate, which seems to be the preferred method.  I am wondering:

1)  For initial  diagnostic purposes, what would be the best way to test the tweeters, to determine if a recap is going to work, or if the tweeters themselves are bad?

2) Is there a detailed write up of this job, with pictures?  Are all the capacitors near the switch and the back plate, or is there one buried further inside?   I imagine reaching in with my arm and grabbing it, but how the heck would you actually replace it?

3)  Is it possible they would benefit from resealing the woofer surround, and if so what's the best way to determine that - by listening?  If they would benefit from that is it even possible to do it?  I understand that the grills don't come off  - in fact I read somewhere that there really is no grill, the speaker cloth is just wrapped around the baffle board, and epoxied, so the only way to access the drivers from the front involves destroying the cloth.  Can you reseal woofer surrounds from the back? 

Thanks,

Rob

I don't know of any way to test if a recap will work, except to replace the old caps and
see what difference they make.

This is a pretty detailed account of restoration. All components should be fairly easy
to reach.

Chances are high the woofers need a coat or two of sealant. It would probably require