AR-3's needing TLC

Finjima

Hello, I occasionally visited these pages till now when I just acquired a pair of AR-3's. I like to restore the old stereos but i'm still a beginner seemingly. I have my work cut out for me with these AR-3's. Starting out they need new tweeters, someone had hacked in a pair of   H25TG-35 by Vifa and bypassed the rheostats and also rebuilt one of the cross overs. I have not taken out the stats yet to inspect them. also someone had doped up one of the surrounds so thick that coating to the surround needs to be removed and refinished. I might have a line on a set of AR-2a's and can salvage the tweeters there, but I won't know if I'm getting them till later this week. I also have to restore the cab's they have chips that need to be repaired and refinish the cabs. no grills... the mids work as well as the woofers, I came here to sort out my issues with this speaker and get a crossover plan in place for the rebuild.

DSCN1589.thumb.JPG.6bf7296d0f9e7250c95012001a1aef62.JPG

here is crossover #1 with bypassed stats and hacked yellow wire (hooked to tweeter)

DSCN1605.thumb.JPG.a6be2c5cd5e469a8de22f17ca974b184.JPG

And Crossover #2 I will want to build the updated crossover for this set of speakers. 

DSCN1600.thumb.JPG.5e51c03bc93c238a2c20dcbaf4a346d6.JPG

see how thick this is on the outside edge, Inside edge is okish. only the one speaker has the cloth surround doped like this, the other woofer had the cap done but that looks ok.

From listening to these before tear down even as messed up as these I could see what the big deal was with these speakers, that mid is really sweet. 

I read the restoration guide for the AR3a (why isn't there one for the AR3? strange) so I know there is much that is universal that I can follow along with and its been a help so far. 

are there any AR-3 experts in florida? 

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to CSP Finjima!