AR-2ax cabinet refinishing questions

Robthomp

This is my first time restoring a pair AR speakers.  (AR-2ax from around 1970).  Right now the cabinets are empty as I await new capacitors, a foam surround kit, and a tweeter repair, and I am preparing to restore the finish. I'm a little unclear how to proceed and I have a few questions.  How do I tell if the cabinets are mahogany veneer or walnut veneer, and does it matter?  I'm going to close the gaps at the edges by using wood glue and bessy clamps.  I thought I would patch the bad spots on the edges with an epoxy filler.  For the surfaces should  I sand? They look pretty bad, but I'm afraid of sanding through the veneer.  Should I just attempt to use Howard's Restore a Finish with steel wool first to see if that's adequate?  Its really only the bottom of one cabinet that's scratched, and the tops of both that have water marks and a few rings.  The sides aren't that bad except (except for some black stain that may or may or not come out.) 

The cabinet that's not pictured is is in better shape than the one that is.

Finally, if I do use Howard's, can I then use Danish oil on top of that?  I heard that Howard's has wax in it, which would seem to suggest you can't follow it with oil/varnish.

Any advice would be appreciated.  

Thanks,

Rob

IMG_1271.jpg

IMG_1274.jpg

IMG_1277.jpg

IMG_1272.jpg

IMG_1273.jpg

Welcome to CSP Rob. You are in the right place. Everybody here is very helpful. I also have restored several pairs much like yours. There is a member here and also at Audiokarma.org that does wonders with cabinets like yours. Look for post by GD70 and you will find a ton of very well documented information on how to proceed. Good luck with your AR2ax's and keep us updated on your progress. Other knowledgeable members will be chiming in soon. 

IMG_2970_zpsyfaktc4f.jpg

3 hours ago, larrybody said: