Dynaco A-25's & Subwoofer

khendrik

I'm a complete newb to the Hifi world.  I just purchased a nice pair of Dynaco A-25's.  Hoping to set them up with a Sansui AU 7500 I have my eye on. Listen to a lot of 60, 70 rock, blues etc.  I'm simply looking to add a small subwoofer to fill out the sound a bit. 

• what are a few basic subs anyone could recommend for a vintage setup. size etc.
  • what hookups on the sub should I be looking for (Someone mentioned a "Z hookup or connection"?*!") 

Thanks

Hi khendrik, and welcome to the CSP forum. I am no expert with this famed speaker model, but the A-25 has that wonderful 10" woofer with rubber surround that gets such high praise - - how about first testing these "new" speakers out for awhile before deciding if they need any additional boost on the low end? Report back with impressions after listening to a variety of source material.

• 2 months later...
On ‎29‎/‎01‎/‎2017 at 5:24 PM, khendrik said:

I'm a complete newb to the Hifi world.  I just purchased a nice pair of Dynaco A-25's.  Hoping to set them up with a Sansui AU 7500 I have my eye on. Listen to a lot of 60, 70 rock, blues etc.  I'm simply looking to add a small subwoofer to fill out the sound a bit. 

• what are a few basic subs anyone could recommend for a vintage setup. size etc.
  • what hookups on the sub should I be looking for (Someone mentioned a "Z hookup or connection"?*!") 

Thanks

Hi there

Just a small comment here.

The original Dynaco A-25's were very well liked in their day.

J. Gordon Holt of the original Stereophile Magazine fame went gaga over them in his first review.

Very smooth and wide range, within their limits.

I like them very much.

Use caution with any bass boost, loudness controls or loud volume levels.

You might download Dynacophil's "Dynaco Dynamax" paper from this site.

It show's several options for multiple Dynaco speakers of the same brand and model.