ADS L400 crossover capacitor

Coleman4130

Hello,

I am refurbishing a nice little pair of L400's.  I'm pretty new to this so thought Id ask your opinion before proceeding.  I ordered Dayton 5% 25uf 250v caps to replace the original 25uf 65v caps and they are giant!  Is this ok or do I need a different product?

On a side not I am new to the forum but have enjoyed many of the speakers talked about here.  A regret selling a pair of L730...

Thanks, -John

IMG_3038.JPG

Thank you Roger, for the low price of these caps I will consider your recommendation.  And with a speaker this small I am worried about losing precious internal cabinet size for bass response! LOL. 

Hi John, and welcome to this forum. I love the tiny ADS speakers - - I have a pair of metal bookshelf 300's that were given to me by a former staffer from the Wilmington factory. They are built like tanks.

In fact, I own two pairs of ADS speakers - - both from the early or mid 80's - - but have never felt the need to recap anything. Of course, like yourself, I've been tempted to replace the electrolytic cap simply because I've jumped on the bandwagon and gotten all caught up in the re-cap frenzy. One reason I decided not to re-cap is to avoid what you've run into - - the difficulty of finding an "upgrade" cap which will suitably fit the circuit board. As Roger has noted, a 150V cap will tend to be a bit smaller than a 250V cap, but Carli does not offer a 25uF cap, and even if they did, it would still dwarf the original 63V cap and be a challenge to install.

The second reason I decided not to replace the cap is because this cap is not in the signal path and therefore, not so crucial. Look at C1 in the schematic, which along with R1, runs parallel to the woofer. Compare this with C2 which runs in series with the tweeter. C2 is the most important cap relative to performance, and ADS is known for using very high quality film caps for their excellent tweeters.