New member with old question and old speakers!

Hi! First time post, having looked thru this forum many times.

Ive just landed a pair of AR3a Improved speakers in superb condition. I'm an audio tech mostly working in studio environments, as well as a guitar tech and amp builder.

At various times I've stopped to listen only, refreshing my hearing and clearing my thoughts. After one such time of some months listening only to vinyl and not building guitar amps, I came back so refreshed that I came up with a guitar amp idea that was incredibly fresh. I'm at another one f those moments where I know I gotta sit back for a spell and just listen.

As has happened one of my clients, a high end hifi distributer here in Melbourne, was clearing some trade in stock that had been stored for some years out the back. I happened along at the right moment to walk into a pair of AR3a Improved in original packaging with receipts, that they traded 10 years ago. My first thought was them foams are gonna need replacing, but upon opening they looked mint. Turned out there was a receipt for refurb in the paperwork. The foams however are a little unresponsive, so they're getting replaced anyway. I had a quick listen there in the large store space and they sounded good enough to take. However set up in my space they were lacking. I decided to recap one last night, as I ever do, one at a time to hear what differences are made. There was some difference for sure but not what I had experienced in the past. There's just no real top end. So had a closer look at the tweeters and I found the problem. One had a broken hair wire, while the other had become unsoldered.

I repaired that issue simply enough, then measured the dcr, was under 2 ohms hovering around 1.5. I ran some signal thru them and there was very little making it out.