New AR2 Owner

Sumner

Hello All,

Newbie here. I just inherited a pair of the first run AR2 yesterday. The speakers are in working order but I'm pretty sure the potentiometers are faulty as the mid and highs are veiled in comparison to the lows. I've been in contact with Mr Lagace regarding everything I'll need to get these functioning as they should.

I was able to remove the grills last night without hardly any damage to the cloth. Not sure if it's the correct way however it worked. First I removed the pesky staples. I used a tiny drill bit that fit in the mesh holes of the cloth and drilled into the particle board. I then screwed tiny hooks into the predrilled holes just into the particle board. Attaching a chain to the hook and with steady but not great force pulling up on the hook/grill until the particle board would separate slightly from the cabinet. After removing one or two more staples I missed!! :) I did this in about 6 different locations until the grill practically fell out of the speaker housing.

And here's a couple pictures of what was waiting. I'm curious as to why one of the speakers surrounds has turned a rust color but the other has barely as discoloration? And why does it turn that color in the first place?

The rust colored woofer is starting to separate from the aluminum. I have a cart full of items on Ebay from Larry I'm going to order today and glue to fix that issue is one of them. I'm also replacing the caps and the potentiometers.

I look forward to learning all I can about the AR2 and AR line in general.

Here's a couple pics:

2qxaiv4.jpg

2a6mg7n.jpg

25h38le.jpg

119c5ki.jpg

Those look like a really nice pair of AR-2's - - congrats, and welcome to this forum - - you've come to the right place!