AR91 - Weak Tweeters?

seventy1

Hello, I’m relatively new to world of AR but have been learning here and at AK. I found my AR91s at a Salvation Army this summer needing some TLC and woofer surrounds. After re-foaming and giving my first listen, they sounded lush and full on the bottom, but not much happening midrange on up. After recapping, things got much better. However, it still seems like I’m missing upper end output. Cymbals and other high frequency content generally sounds recessed. I haven’t done an A to B with other speakers, but hope to find time during the holiday.

The room setup is not ideal with a cabinet three inches away from the side of the LH speaker, the RH 2 ft from the side wall but usually obscured by a leather chair. The speakers are three inches off the back wall at normal height but with carpet spikes installed to the bases. I’m driving them with a Denon POA-2400A and a Luxman R115 preamp. With all resistor switches at “0”, the mids sound harsh, so I set those to “-3”. The tweeters measure 3.3 Ω and 3.2 Ω.

I ran some frequency sweeps with a remedial software tool and a mic that came with my Marantz 7.1 receiver. The results look like I’m not losing loudness at high frequency, curious drop out at 150 Hz, though.

post-176246-0-83234300-1450762321_thumb.

Here's what I used for the crossover caps:

post-176246-0-23902900-1450763109_thumb.

post-176246-0-48820500-1450762471_thumb.

Now my questions, is what I’m hearing in line with the AR91 voicing possibly aggravated with less than ideal placement and fifty-something old ears? Would I notice a difference if I ran a high quality 0.1 mfd cap in parallel with the 3.9 to bring the tweeter crossover up to the original design? Should I consider replacing or repairing the tweeters? Old ferrofluid? Thanks for any suggestions.

Welcome to this friendly forum.