Speaker Connections

der

This seems to be a dumb question but one I have to ask the resident experts. While I've searched the web I've not come up with a convincing answer. On AR speakers, AR3, AR3a, etc. (the original line) which speaker terminals are which? Is terminal 1 negative or positive? I long ago lost any literature that came with my speakers. I believe that number 1 is negative and 2 is positive. I also believe I had them reversed for a long time.

der

Thank you for your reply. You know, with raising a family and all the other distractions in younger life my audio hobby took a decidedly back seat for many years. I had my system set up but rarely listened. I no longer had any paperwork and apparently old age had taken over and I couldn't quite remember the proper hookup. I was pretty certain that 1 was negative and 2 positive so when I looked recently and found I had it reversed I began to wonder.

der

I am no expert but as I understand it the important thing is that all speakers be wired similar. Of course that assumes that the inside wiring is all the same. I also believe there is a "test" that can be done by facing two wired speakers face to face and playing a test tone you can tell if they are out of phase. In a nutshell, I think the travel of the cone (forward and backward) needs to be the same direction on the drivers.

I have often wondered if the +/- terminals really matter other than the above info.

I dug out my old Shure test records to be certain that my speakers are in phase. They are indeed. I was sure I would be able to tell if they were out of phase just by listening but I double checked anyway.

der

I dug out my old Shure test records to be certain that my speakers are in phase. They are indeed. I was sure I would be able to tell if they were out of phase just by listening but I double checked anyway.

der

Yep, connect them back the other way and they will sound just a good as long as they are in phase :)

Roger