Refoaming AR16 speakers - help needed

Jeff_C

Hi all

Although I have been viewing this forum for a couple of years this is my first post. Two years ago I was intending to restore my AR16 speakers but misplaced the woofers which I had taken out of the cabinets. Luckily a few weeks ago I found them. I have owned the AR16 s from new in January 1977. In 1993 I stopped using them when the foam surrounds had perished too badly to continue using them and risking damage to the speakers. I have already received the replacement surrounds and glue from goodhifi.com in the Netherlands. They advised me that the new surrounds were about 5% stiffer than the original but the new material should last considerably longer. The web page reference is :-

http://www.speakerrepairshop.com/index.php?item=foam-ring-for-acoustic-research-ar16-_8-inch_-woofers&action=article&group_id=10000033&aid=1431〈=en

I have started removing the perished foams and glue. I watched the video to which I was referred by goodhifi but it was in the Dutch language and they were working on a plastic coned speaker. I am happy to continue working on the speaker frame to get rid of all remnants of foam and glue, but I am worried about what more is needed to clean the cone's edge. I do not want to damage it. I would welcome any tips and advice from anyone who has experience of refoaming. If all goes well I have attached an image of my speaker, so you can see what the edge of the cone looks like at the moment. There is still some black dust there.

So my main questions are :-

(1) What do I need to do to the cone's edge to prepare it for the new surround?

(2) How do I ensure that I do not pull the cone off centre or in or out when attaching the new surround?

When the surrounds are fitted I intend to replace the capacitors and whatever other parts are necessary in the crossovers. Again any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards from Jeff

post-153250-0-49323000-1384520180_thumb.