AR9 question

DavidR

Hi All,

I'm new to the Classic Speaker Pages but have already read many great threads here.

Since retiring I have given up a long time hobby to get back into my love for audio gear - my new hobby.

I currently have a real nice pair of AR90s, a pair of Polk RTA12C and some Bose 901s VI. The 90s outperform hands down.

I have been searching for a pair of AR9s so I can Biamp. I gave up on my idea of making my AR90s biamp capable after reading many threads here.

My question is about the change in the crossover network in the AR9s> how can I tell if what I am buying has the 2 #6 coils in the xover w/o opening the speaker up? I know that the early AR9s only had the single #6 coil. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

My question is about the change in the crossover network in the AR9s> how can I tell if what I am buying has the 2 #6 coils in the xover w/o opening the speaker up? I know that the early AR9s only had the single #6 coil. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to CSP, David...

The short answer to your question is you cannot tell what is or is not in the AR-9 crossover without looking at it. IF there were actually any crossover changes in the AR-9, they have not been verified, nor are they anything to be concerned about.

Roy

I've read several threads (mostly here) that the early AR9s had a single #6 coil and a 2nd #6 coil was added shortly/sometime after after production began.

Perhaps its an 'urban myth' and was never true but there is a conception out there that this was the case. I just saw it in an eBay add for a pair of 9s out in California.

I've read several threads (mostly here) that the early AR9s had a single #6 coil and a 2nd #6 coil was added shortly/sometime after after production began.

Perhaps its an 'urban myth' and was never true but there is a conception out there that this was the case. I just saw it in an eBay add for a pair of 9s out in California.

David,