A matching center channel for AR91'

I have a pair of AR91 speakers that I bought in 1981. I am using them as front speakers now for a wide-screen TV, and I am trying to add a center channel speaker(and maybe side or back speakers as well).

According to what is available from AR today, either AR4C or AR2C could be a choice, but they use 1" and 5 1/4" (all of current AR center channels use these sizes) tweeter and drivers. I wonder how it will sound with AR91's 3/4" and 1 1/2" elements. The manufacturer suggested AR4C as the closest match.

I read some of questions and responses in this forum, and I expect that an AR92 or something like that may be suggested as the center channel. My room is however pretty narrow such that I would like to attach the center channel behind the TV set, which is against a wall. I would prefer a smaller size.

I am no expert in speakers, and have no experience about "voice matching". Please advise.

G. Lee

It's tough to see how the AR4C can be considered as a good complement to your AR-91's...it has a limited frequency response, 6 dB difference in efficiency, a crossover frequency that's about half of the 91's mid/tweeter crossover of 7.5 kHz (that's going to sound *weird*), and a sparkly little titanium tweeter. About the only thing going for it is the magnetic shielding.

It can be difficult to integrate vintage AR speakers into a video/surround installation...none of the speakers were shielded, which can be a real problem with the tower cabinets of the 9 and 90; and matching the center channel's voicing to the other front speakers is a definite challenge. Suggestions, anyone?

Hi;

Voice matching means that the speakers will work together, nothing currently sold under the AR brand is close to your AR91 speaker.