ar 2ax and the competition.

hello all.

i recently stumbled across this page and have only glowing comments for the deapth and quality of information provided. i am fairly new to the world of classic audio and have a great disadvantage in that i missed this golden era ( born in 1979 - just during the last gasps.)

i have a pair of ar 2ax's i lovingly rub with linseed oil whenever excusable. i run them with a marantz model 26 receiver, the little guy, love the sound of the duo but wonder if the 26 really has enough gusto. i now know, courtesy of this page, that ar suggests a minimum of 20 watts for the 2ax's. i believe the model 26 is rated at 10 or 15 but understand that marantz underates. any input from those more informed?

also, i have recently come across pairs of marantz imperial 6g's and imperial 7's. how would these compare with my ax's? is it sacralige to even ask? what reputation does marantz have for speakers? i want to believe the ar's are superior, really i want to. my only basis for comparison is that of the 2ax's vs. my pair of old wharfedale w70's. wharfedale seems to have an edge in the low range but dosen't match the beautiful high end of the the ar's

can anyone impart the wisdom of years, or correct the unfounded claims of this squirt, conceived after his own speakers?

respectfully, noah.

Ha, ha...welcome aboard, Noah. My first *real* speaker was the 2ax when I was a bit younger than you are now, and they served me well through college and my first official paycheck. You are correct in assuming that you could use some more power for your speakers - if you want to stay "vintage", a bigger Marantz receiver like the 2265 or 2275 would be a fine choice. If you really feel like plunging into what AR was about in the late '60s and early '70s, take a run at the original AR Amplifier or Receiver - they were designed to power the 3a (I had that system, too!), and would be something with the 2ax.