AR 3 serial numbers

rwalton46

I'm a newbie member, but I've been monitoring this site for several years.

I have a pair of AR 3's that I found at an estate sale (for ridiculously cheap)five or so years ago. I knew what they were when I got them, and was most pleasantly surprised when everything worked. Well, the pots were typically intermittent.

Now I've discovered that the tweeter and mid in one of the cabinets aren't working and I'll soon be opening both cabinets to clean up the pots and maybe re-cap the crossovers, depending on what I find inside. That brings up the serial numbers.

The cabinets are numbered C 6634, and C 08232. The label with the 4-digit number has "SPECIAL" stamped on it, and has slightly different wording and a slightly different format than the label with the 5-digit number. These two cabinets look almost identical. So I'm curious: what is the difference that makes the earlier cabinet "special?" When did AR start using a zero in front of the other digits? When did the label change? So many questions!

I also own two sets of AR 2ax's, one set of fairly early vintage, the other of later vintage.

Thanks,

Rick

Hi Rick and welcome as an "active" member of CSP

I'm working on an AR3 restoration right now. Just taking a break. Something you should find interesting is the paper on AR3 crossovers, in the library here:

http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/library/acoustic_research/original_models_1954-1974/original_models_schematicss/thoughts_on_ar-3_schematics/thoughts_on_ar-3_schematics.pdf

C6634 and 08232 both seem to be from what authors John O'Hanlon and Tom Tyson identified as the first xo change, in 1960. So your two speakers should match. Mine had 2 different crossovers, so I've rebuilt them to match yours. Like you, I also own 2ax's (and 2a's).