Factory Errors in AR 9 Schematic

Guest Sean

Upon dis-assembly of my 9's to perform some repairs / upgrades, i started studying the schematic that Mark has posted for these speakers. This is the same schematic that is also found in the original factory supplied owners manual.

What i found is the schematic shows a total of 7 coils in the circuit. If you look at the actual parts layout on the board at http://www.arsenal.net/speakers/ar/documen...ng/Scan15sm.tif there are 8 coils in the circuit. The error lies in the fact that the factory omitted a second coil in the schematic of the high pass section of the 1.5" upper midrange circuit. Judging by what the schematic offers, the high pass section would only be sloping at 6 dB / octave rather than the 12 dB that is stated in the written

text of the owners manual. Doing a side by side comparison of the actual circuitry and the schematic verifies that it really is a 12 dB slope and the schematic needs correction. Quite honestly, i'm surprised that nobody else has ever caught this error before.

On top of this, this specific set of 9's makes use of some slightly different parts values from what is shown in the schematic. I am working on documenting everything that i run into while doing "surgery" so that an addendum can be added to the AR archives on this website. It will be quite some time until until i can get all of this done and Mark can get the info posted, so those that were relying on info that was presented in the schematic should verify what is actually inside your specific set of speakers prior to performing any modifications / ordering of parts.

Please feel free to email me with questions in the mean-time. Sean

>

Sean,