AR 90 question

I have a pair of old AR 90s that I bought new 22 years ago as part of a system that included Phase Linear amp, preamp, eq and a Technics turntable.

The speakers are still in excellent condition and, in fact, care currently being used as mains in a home theater system (with Adcom amps). In cleaning them this past weekend, I discovered some small cracks in the foam surrounds in the woofers.

I should say upfront that I am not an engineer or technically very knowledgable. Just someone who loves good jazz and nice equipment.

In searching for a place to repair the surrounds, I stumbled across this forum. After reading many of the posts, my question is what exactly is the difference between my AR 90s and a pair of AR 9s? I gather that the 9s have much superior bass, but I'm not able to determine much beyond that.

There seems to be lots of posts about the 9s and very little about the 90s. I understand this is because the 90s are less desirable, but since many of the components seem to be the same, I'm not sure exactly why.

I should add that I have no interest in selling them. I'm just curious about how the two compare. And since I'm at a point of needing to replace the foam anyway, whether or not the 90s can (or even should be ) upgraded to sound as good as many indicate the 9s sound. Thanks in advance for any input.

The Nines used two of the nominal 12" woofers that had been developed from the AR-1, through the 3 and 3a, LST, 10pi, and 11. The low-frequency capability of this design was unequalled by any other AR system.

The 90 matched a pair of 10" woofers with the other Model 9 drivers in a smaller enclosure, and used a different crossover network.

Similarities in sound would far outweigh the differences between the two systems, with bass extension (although the 90 is no slouch!) and spl characteristics being primary.