Model One's - some restoration questions

Guest daevdude

Guest daevdude

Hi all!

Based on the enthusiasm of the folks here, I dug my Model Ones out of storage and I am restoring them to duty after about 15 years of non-use. They worked fine at the time I stored them.

(I have a lot of electronics experience, [mostly vacuum tube hi-fi rebuilding and pro audio PA work] but not a lot of speaker rebuilding experience. Any tips or gotcha's unique to these speakers would be appreciated.)

A) Speakers

A.1) The woofer surrounds have rotted (as usual?) and I've ordered a re-foam kit for them. Looks like the Speaker-Ex Item #"RFK10 Angle" is the closest match, I'll post more when they come in and report on the progress and results.

A.2) The tweeters look fine, I see no reason to mess with them.

:lol: Crossover/controls.

B.1) I expect the pots and switches will just need a good cleaning. I'll check them for functionality before I bolt everything back together.

B.2) It looks like the crossover is glued in, is that correct? Should I carefully cut/pry it out to service it? Any tips here?

B.3) Should I expect the crossover caps to be leaky/out of tolerance by now and just replace them? I've liked the sound of Solens in my tube amps, any other reasonably priced suggestions?

B.4) Does anyone have a schematic for the crossover? If not, are the marked capacitor values the theoretically correct ones or merely the closest common values? I assume carefully matching the left/tight values is a good idea, yes?

C) Front panel

C.1) All the foam on teh front panel looks good and isn't crumbling, no reason to mess with it.

C.2) Speaker "grills" and the edge holder are also in good shape,. Grills are only missing the logos. Does anyone have a nice clear picture of the logo and the correct size? I can use the magic of computers and a color printer to fake a couple.

D) Cabinet