Grill Removal - AR2ax

Guest Noel

Hi, I'm a newbie to the list. I own an early production run pair of 2ax speakers--vintage '65-'66. The grills are attached to the cabinets with staples. Does anyone have a suggestion for removing the grills that will minimize the risk of damage to either the flimsy wooden grill frames or the veneer on the cabinets? I hate to have to buy new grills if it is not necessary, but I cannot think of a safe and easy way to remove the existing grills. Thanks for your help.

Noel

Are you sure they are stapled? I had a pair of 2Axs of the same era which I purchased new when I was in college in 1965 - the grills were glued, not stapled in place. If they really are stapled, I doubt you can remove them without destroying them since, as you noted, the grill frames are rather fragile. Even glued, the grill/cloth is very difficult to remove without damage unless you are lucky and the glue wasn't applied all that well originally. A small L-shaped tool like a thin allen wrench is the only thing I have used that had any chance of success. It has to be small enough to slide between the frame and grill, then rotate 90 degrees so it can pull on just the grill. You want to place the tool right next to the glued area and slowly/carefully pull it out. Chances are pretty good that the grill frame will break anyway so my advice is to be prepared for the fact that you will have to replace the grill/cloth anyway, whether you intend to or not! ;) If you don't care about the cloth, intending to replace it later, the grills are much easier to remove since you can just cut out the cloth and remove the grills with any number of tools like a putty knife.