AR Box and Woofer Sealing

Analogman

The subjective "slow return" test makes no sense to me from a practical view, (I'm a mechanic by trade).

Would not a slow return of the woofer's cone to it's rest position indicate a small unmetered leak?

Especially considering that not only the change induced in internal cabinet pressure combined with the spider and outer compliance's "memory" wanting things back at rest, it would seem you would want a rapid return? No?

Press on the outer surface of a tightly inflated balloon or tire and it returns almost immediately after the pressure is removed.

An automotive shock absorber returns slowly after being "compressed" but this return to rest or "static" orientation is metered internally.

I know on Jensen era "Advent" 10"s the voice coil cooling is accomplished via the fine mesh "dust cap". Aren't the old potted magnet 10"s cooled the same way? Even though their "dust cap" is not opaque?

I've spent many years working on the skill to properly seal things, both fluid and gaseous. I am confident my woofers have been well installed on all my projects, but I've yet had one require anywhere near a full second or more to return to rest when manipulated as prescribed.

Not doubting here, just wish to understand.

Please enlighten.

Regards,

Craig

The subjective "slow return" test makes no sense to me from a practical view, (I'm a mechanic by trade).

Would not a slow return of the woofer's cone to it's rest position indicate a small unmetered leak?

Especially considering that not only the change induced in internal cabinet pressure combined with the spider and outer compliance's "memory" wanting things back at rest, it would seem you would want a rapid return? No?

Please enlighten.

Regards,

Craig

Hi Craig,