Dynaco electical problem? Please help!

Horswispr

I've had close to 20 pair of Dynaco A-25s pass through my house over the past year. All have been acoustically perfect, with the exception of one clearly blown woofer. Fortunately, the seller of that pair was cool, and took them back. I didn't want to bother searching out and replacing a woofer. I am really good at making the wood surfaces look beautiful, but I'm not an expert when it comes to the guts (I don't own a soldering iron right now). Recently I bought a pair of A-25s on Ebay that looked terrible, as expected, but I noticed that one tweeter's level was WAY below the other's. I did some experimenting with another Dynaco tweeter I had on hand and came to the conclusion that the new tweeter itself was OK. So, thinking oxidation, I wiggled the wires at the back of the new tweeter, and also removed the woofer (keeping it attached--no soldering iron) and wiggled the wires where the tweeter leads enter the crossover network. Lo and behold, the tweeter performed normally once I put everything back together again. For awhile. A couple of times, I thought I heard drops in level, followed by spontaneous returns to normal. My question is: Does this sound like a wiring/oxidation problem? Or could there be a problem in the crossover network itself? They sound fine right now, but I wouldn't want to move these along to someone else unless I was sure they were functioning 100%. Thanks for any words of wisdom!

It sounds like a cold solder joint, it would be wise to heat and reflow all the solder connections with a small amount of fresh solder. Might as well also apply a contact cleaner to the switch contacts.

• 3 weeks later...