Advent/2 voice coil and refoam questions - beginner

Bandolino

Hello all. I have been reading this forum with (rabid?) interest for a little while, and now it's time for me to finally post something.

WARNING: I tend to get long-winded. I can already tell that this post is going to be longer than it should be. As I am ignorant of many small details, I am asking some detailed questions that many of you more experienced folks may find extremely boring. So, read at your own risk! And for those of you who do read this, than you in advance for your patience.

I just bought a couple old pairs of speakers, and all the woofers and mid-range drivers need to be refoamed. One pair are Acoustic Research AR93s, and I will surely be posting more about those later. The other pair, as you might guess, are Advent/2 speakers made in 1974.

I am a complete and utter beginner. I have never refoamed a driver before. I have been reading everything I can find on the internet about how to do this. It sounds as if it is possible to do it oneself, but also possible to damage the voice coil and thus destroy the driver, if it is done wrong. I intend to attempt the refoaming of the Advent/2 woofers myself, both because I am too poor to pay someone to do it, and because I am interested in the process, and eager to learn how. I decided to start with the Advent/2 because I bought them very cheaply, and they don't seem to be a terribly high quality speaker to start with, so if I mess up, it's a small sacrifice for my learning process before I start in on the AR93s.

By the way, for any other beginner reading this post, the best description of how to refoam a driver I have found online so far, including a nice, clear diagram of the parts of a driver, is here:

http://www.citlink.net/~msound/refoam/