Ar-2ax re-veneer?

Guest filedog

Guest filedog

I have a pair of 2axs, in pretty good shape. Just got 'em, they're 259,xxx made in june of '74. Woofers refoamed, all original drivers, pots even sound pretty good, but I'm gonna clean 'em, and replace the caps. Grills are nice, only one badge though (plastic kind) may spring for a new pair of the brass ones. So, open 'em up, replace caps, clean pots and reseal drivers.

The cabinets however are covered in vinyl veneer. A few small chips missing. I can't decide if I should try to patch the veneer (some type of filler to level the surface, and paint) or go for a re-veneer with wood. I've never tried it before, read what I can find, but it seems like a major project. The cabs overall, do not look bad, but they sure would be nice in real walnut! I love the speakers, will definitely keep them, but, I'm just not sure about the amount of time required, and how they would come out.

Guest filedog

Speedracer, yeah, I'd like wood too, but if it doesn't come out better than they are now, I am out $ and time. Have you ever re-veneered speakers? I was kind of hoping someone could give me some feedback on how hard it was and how it went.

Hey filedog

I have done exactly what you propose, but on a smaller scale. I took a KLH 21 FM radio--the later kind with vinyl cladding. The vinyl was shot and the particle board was chipped. I stripped off the vinyl, filled the chips and sanded it. Then applied the veneer. Attached are before & after pics. I like the "after" better ;-)

You have to use contact cement and you only get ONE chance. Directions are included. Do a Google search if you want to get directions before you buy. Here are a couple:

http://members.aol.com/woodmiser1/veneer.htm

http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/ww_materials...2276965,00.html