How to clean pots? AR3 Newbie seeking info

Guest biminyrd

Guest biminyrd

Ok, I'm new to repairing speakers, though I've had my AR3's for 15years since my father gave them to me.

I am only getting sound from both the woofers, and nothing from the tweeters or mids.

I've searched the forums.

I've figured out I should try to clean my pots, but I can't find a post that will tell me how. How do I remove them, what do I clean, with what can I clean them (sand paper/emery paper, wd-40, some other special electrical cleaner?), etc?

is there a faq or sticky post that i'm missing in my search?

I've found the diagrams for bypassing them, but I don't really want to do that 1st, plus I've seen posts that are not very clear that this is the proper solution.

thanks in advance.

aaron

>Ok, I'm new to repairing speakers, though I've had my AR3's

>for 15years since my father gave them to me.

>I am only getting sound from both the woofers, and nothing

>from the tweeters or mids.

>I've searched the forums.

>I've figured out I should try to clean my pots, but I can't

>find a post that will tell me how. How do I remove them, what

>do I clean, with what can I clean them (sand paper/emery

>paper, wd-40, some other special electrical cleaner?), etc?

>is there a faq or sticky post that i'm missing in my search?

>

>I've found the diagrams for bypassing them, but I don't really

>want to do that 1st, plus I've seen posts that are not very

>clear that this is the proper solution.

>

>thanks in advance.

>aaron