AR3a Midrange: Myth or Magic?

Guest jdybnis

Guest jdybnis

Hi,

This is my first post on this form. I'm gearing up for a rebuild of a friend's AR3a's. I'm a bit incredulous of the 3a's 1.5" midrange. How can a 1.5" driver be crossed over as low as 525hz and still play at a reasonable volume? I'm an AR novice but I'll make an educated guess that the driver reaches it's mechanical limits at 1mm peak to peak excursion. A 1.5" driver has a surface area of about 11.5cm. The crossover looks reasonably close to a 4th order L-R (down 6db at the crossover point). To me it looks like the 3a can't play over 95db without destroying the midrange. Is this what the AR 3a owners have experienced?

-Josh

>Hi,

>

>This is my first post on this form. I'm gearing up for a

>rebuild of a friend's AR3a's. I'm a bit incredulous of the

>3a's 1.5" midrange. How can a 1.5" driver be crossed

>over as low as 525hz and still play at a reasonable volume?

>I'm an AR novice but I'll make an educated guess that the

>driver reaches it's mechanical limits at 1mm peak to peak

>excursion. A 1.5" driver has a surface area of about

>11.5cm. The crossover looks reasonably close to a 4th order

>L-R (down 6db at the crossover point). To me it looks like the

>3a can't play over 95db without destroying the midrange. Is

>this what the AR 3a owners have experienced?

>

>-Josh

I presume you are aware that the midrange is a hemispherical dome. Are your max spl calculations based on conventional cone formulas?

In any case, these speakers were mfg'd in an era when high power amps >>100 WPC didn't exist and thus some caution should be exercised in powering these speakers.

What exactly are you planning to do?

Perhaps fusing should be considered in the rebuild if you think the speakers might see some fairly high power inputs well beyond 100 watts.

The pots alone are rated for only 25 watts.

Remember, it's all about the music

Carl

Carl's Custom Loudspeakers

Hi,