Help! Upgraded pots in AR 2x not working.

Guest mrsimontibbs

Guest mrsimontibbs

I'm new to AR speakers and just picked up a pair of 2x from a thrift store for $10. The tweeters didn't work so I decided to upgrade the pots, as online sites recommend. I bought a pair locally salvaged from some 2ax, and they were wired together but identical. These are new after-market ones, not OEM, similar to ones I've seen on eBay. (Maybe L-pad types? I'm not sure). I soldered them in, logically following the yellow/green wire arrangement. But now the tweeters still don't work.

I'm a newbie. Could I have attached the wrong wire to the wrong post? The longer post I put to yellow, the shorter post that says '2' got two longer wires (light green/dark green) and the second shorter post got the short green wire. Like I said, this seems to match the original arrangement.

If you're interested, I've attached a jpg of the ORIGINAL pots and wires. If needed, I could post a pic of the new pots.

Your thoughts would be appreciated. I'm up at 2:30 a.m. wrestling with these things. Thanks!

http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/dc/user_files/1627.jpg

post-102104-1160041499.jpg

Hi Mr Tibbs

Yes--I'm thinking you wired them wrong. I bought some replacement L-pads from Vintage AR, and for those, original terminal B = new terminal 2, original 1 = new 3 and original 2 = new 1. Hope this helps. You can also check your new controls with a digital multimeter. btw--you may want to clean up the original pots and reinstall them. Search the forum for how-to info. It's pretty easy.

Kent

PS

>>I'm new to AR speakers and just picked up a pair of 2x from a thrift store for $10

Welcome! You lucky dog! Those are GREAT speakers and 10 bux is a steal! How are the woofer surrounds, walnut veneer, grille cloth, logos? If any need attention (as mine did) you'll find lots of help here

-K

Ted,