Just bought some Acoustic Research AR3's at a garage sale!!!!!

Guest centaurus

Guest centaurus

hi all,

what a great group!

i need more crap like a hole in the head, but i past by a garage sale today and saw two boxes that said AR3 on them. so, $25 later, i have a pair of AR3's in their original boxes from the original owner!

they are pretty nice looking except each one has a planter ring spot. why MUST wives put planters on top of speakers? other than that, they are real clean. looks like the mahogany finish.

i am a total AR newbie. my mainstays have been bozak 302A Urbans and the Janszen Z-600's I'm rebuilding (x-overs and power supplies). the rest of the system is as follows: McIntosh MC60s, CJ pv1 (modded to PV2a specs) or precision fidelity C4, theta DSPro GEN III DAC and data II transport, technics SL-1700 MK2 turntable and shure V15 III cartridge, Adcom ACE515 line conditioner, B&W ASW500 powered subwoofer.

took them home and moved the bozaks to the bedroom. holy crap, i thought the plaster would fall off the walls! and to think i still need to reseal the cloth surrounds (although i don't want to risk breaking the grill frames to get to them).

as far as the mids and highs, maybe i need to pull the grills, the tweeters sound very extended. maybe they have already been converted to AR3a? probably not, but they sound pretty nice. not as utterly amazing as the janszens, but far better than the 200Ys in the bozaks.

the vocal mids are very rich and smooth. playing Patricia barber and ammie mann, voices filled the room quite nicely. again, the tweeters just slaughter the bozaks. there is an apparent hole with regards to the lower mids and mid bass. the lack of mid bass detail I've grown to accept with "modern speakers" i suppose AR started the trend? the Bozak B209b midrage gets the nod here. the AR bass itself is incredible though.