AR5 woofer problem

SeanM

A198F387-8E82-4D1A-B3DB-5F350604A0B7.thumb.jpeg.dcd778f0136237b1d03d2edd4227f6e4.jpegB4C96E03-2521-4F3A-8E23-88894FBD152D.thumb.jpeg.a478c18d5f7fb128d4237db3cd749f65.jpeg

i've been using AR4Xs for last 15 years or so. i recently acquired AR5s(euro version, teak finish) to try bigger scale, but woofer response was much less than i expected. 

i have never auditioned AR5s of good condition before, so here are some questions. 

1. its bass is not quite edgy and tight compared to my existing 4X's. is this normal(under the same setup, scott 355 pre&krell ksa-50 power)?

2. is 50wpc enough to drive 5's 10" woofer?

3. i checked polarity, but it turned out that it's fine. what else could cause the weak bass of the 5s? (sealing condition, old capacitors... but i was told they were recapped recently)

4. at low volume, one of the woofers seems not working at all, but when i increase volume, it starts making bass sound. 

any advice to address the current issues would be welcomed. 

7 hours ago, SeanM said:

1. its bass is not quite edgy and tight compared to my existing 4X's. is this normal(under same set up, scott 355 pre&krell ksa-50 power)?

2. is 50wpc enough to drive 5's 10" woofer?

3. i checked polarity, but it turned out that it's fine. what else could cause the weak bass of the 5s? (sealing condition, capacitor... but i was told they were recapped recently)

4. at low volume, one of the woofers seems not working at all, but when i increase volume, it starts making bass sound. 

any advice to address current issues would be welcomed. 

1.  In Addition to DavidR's gasket advice from above.

Assuming both speakers are operating correctly, there will not be a startling difference in bass on most recordings.  To best compare both models, they should  be placed identically in relation to the listening position and reflective boundaries.

2. 50 Watts at 8 ohms is plenty