Looking to buy or refurbish a pair of Allison CD6s (Oak)

jpincus

A new contact on AudioKarma recommended that I post my questions here.  I apologize to anyone who also posts on AudioKarma who may see my comments below twice.

My Dad bought me a pair of Allison CD6s when I graduated from high school. They have followed me around the country for 27 years. He died a number of years ago, and I can't bring myself to retire those speakers. The veneer on one of them was damaged at some point when we lived in Los Angeles, and they are starting to sound a bit muffled.

The long and short of it is that I'm looking to replace like for like and/or supplement the aging pair that I have.

I'm new to this forum, so I apologize in advance if this kind of post is inappropriate.

Is anyone interested in selling the pair that they have?
Even if you are not selling a pair in good condition, would you know someone who might?
Does anyone know anyone who could restore the speakers I currently own?

Thanks in advance.

The CD 6 remains a unique and highly restorable loudspeaker.

The tweeters could be the biggest challenge if you have a failed one (so rare) but it is the two way that is common to the A4 A5, 6, 7. 

Using EBay or a marketplace of your choosing you could If needed take a tweeter from any of those and use it in yours.

The woofers are conventional enough that they can be restored by any competent speaker repair outfit (like Simply Speakers, etc.

• 1 month later...

I had a nice set listed locally and on USAudioMart for quite a while that was finally sold a few months ago. It was the last of my Allisons, and the one I was most reluctant to see go. (I’d earlier sold a set of Ones - replaced by Revel M22s - and a pair of modified CD-7s.) I’d already done a recap (with reasonably priced Erse caps), which was an improvement on the original.