Checking drivers in LST

Kev_Rat

I have been using my LSTs now for a couple of years now.  They are driven by a pair of Krell-KAS with a Burson Conductor 3XR providing preamp and DAC duties.  Of late I have been worried that the tweeters have been getting old and I also felt that one side was down a little as the stage seemed a bit to one side.  On the basis of never having enough spare drivers I have managed to collect 4 rebuilt tweeters and half a dozen very nice 200010-1 mids so time to test and replace any weak ones.

Listening to the speakers, all drivers seemed to be working so I tried some cardboard tube to hear if any were down.  About this point I realized that my ears were not up to this task and I just get confused so I broke out a sound meter and ran some measurements.  After a bit of faffing about I created the attached set of measurements using a web based tone generator at a set volume.   I measured twice and then swapped the speakers R:L, to check the amps were not an issue, and repeated.  The measurements were all pretty repeatable and close, which was rather reassuring.  The measurements were made with the Balance Level set at 1 and the results are an average of all samples.

It seems to me that I could replace all the mids in L speaker and Tweeters 1,2,4,5 going from L to R then measure again.  I could barely hear the 14,440Hz tone so the hearing isn’t as good as it was once.  The speakers are currently front wired and while the tweeters are the same, the new mids are rear wired.  So a little work to do there.  I will obviously need to send the tweeters I remove off for refurb (once shipping from Australia improves) to keep some spares for the future.

Comments and advice would be appreciated before I go berserk on the soldering Iron.

Regards1999655474_LSTMeasurements.thumb.png.0bc18f6618c06a24074a804064cf5b21.png

Kevin

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Kev,