I have Allison 130's here... Rare? Any info appreciated...

ShadowGoat

Hello,  First time newbie here.  I have some unusual speakers that I can't even find an accurate photo of online. I have resurrected a pair of Allison 130's that are in great shape. I replaced one of the mid's with an Allison One midrange, and it worked - sounds great! I gently crimped terminal plugs to the wires and carefully fed them around the port without severing that fragile, string-like, wire.

Anyway, has anyone ever seen these with the narrow, 7 3/4", cabinets? The midrange I took out is stamped June, 1987.  Check out the photos and thanks for any help. I don't know if I'm going to keep them or sell them yet.

IMG_5540.jpg

IMG_5541.jpg

IMG_5545.jpg

IMG_6074.jpg

IMG_6076.jpg

IMG_6077.jpg

IMG_6078.jpg

IMG_6079.jpg

IMG_6080.jpg

IMG_6081.jpg

Sure! That’s the predecessor to the AL 130. I’ll post some pics later when I have them handy.

The AL 130 has a 4 driver 3 way configuration with dual push pull woofers and the same basic mids and tweets as in the 130.

Too bad those drivers are pretty mashed in…..typical average condition of these old guys unfortunately.

20 hours ago, ShadowGoat said:

Thanks for the response. I’ve decided to sell these. Would anyone on here be interested?

Best of luck to you. You’re starting price IMHO (Ebay) is High by 500.00.

You can get some tips and advice from here if you’re serious about unloading them…also looks like a missing screw on one midrange. Am I seeing that correctly?

Yes, one of the the threads came out with the screw, unfortunately. I had no idea what these are worth since I couldn’t even find a photo of them, let alone a sold listing. I’ve lowered the price and will lower it again, but I’m fine keeping them too. They do sound very nice. I like how the soundstage is vertical/elevated over my stereo - recessed but in a smooth, non-fatiguing way. My Klipsch are more low and in front. Anyway, thanks!

3 hours ago, ShadowGoat said: