Acoustic research mst1

Robert young

Hi everyone I’m a bit confused I need to source some tweeters for my replica mst1’s 3 tweeter configuration are the tweeters 4 ohm or 8 ohm? can anyone help with the frequency range and sensitivity Needed i’m looking to use new tweeters can anyone suggest a good tweeter as I’m new to this,any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated,
rob

58 minutes ago, Robert young said:

Hi everyone I’m a bit confused I need to source some tweeters for my replica mst1’s 3 tweeter configuration are the tweeters 4 ohm or 8 ohm? can anyone help with the frequency range and sensitivity Needed i’m looking to use new tweeters can anyone suggest a good tweeter as I’m new to this,any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated,
rob

Robert,

They are rated as 8 ohm tweeters, but there are no "drop -in" replacements available. Any drivers you use other than used originals will require development of an appropriate crossover.  Based on your posts regarding your woofers, in the absence of original drivers, you are essentially designing a new speaker system in an MST shaped cabinet. You could call it the "RST". 🙂

Roy

RST I like that !

i was coming to the same conclusion,the crossover point in the original mst1 was specific to the Roy Allison tweeters and woofer,I’m going to choose some drivers and try and design a crossover on crossover software (should be interesting/frustrating!) 🙃but even with a revised crossover the design is the speakers personality with it’s unique sound dispersion.

one question when designing the crossover would the mst1 configuration be considered a 3way design?

one good thing about designing the crossover is the guesswork and trial and error are somewhat lessened,but that said if anyone out there has any suggestions on a crossover design that may work I’m all ears 

Rob😎

Rob,