wool stuffing for the speakers

roundhome

hello i was wondering, I have read here that wool is the best stuffing for the speakers.

I have a sorce for fresh new wool and if it would be a good upgrade to switch to wool?

Jim

PS thanks for the hard work getting the forum back up I'm a main frame tech and know how hard fixing these things can get.

I was going through withdrall not have the information that comes on here.

Thanks again

I re-stuffed my AR3as with Acousta-Stuf. I weighed what stuffing was in the box and added a similar weight of Acousta-Stuf.

The bass now sounds perfect to me. BTW, there were varyiations in the weight of the original struffing from box to box. I have 2 pair and the boxes varied +- 2 grams. So much for exactness. I think the average was 1 lb. 13 oz.

The old stuffing was truly nasty and it looked to be breaking down. Did I "have" to change it? Probably not. But I was in there replacing pots that kept cutting out (even after I cleaned them) and also I replaced those wonderful 30 year old caps. I especially got a kick out of the wax jobs.

Acousta-stuf will probably not break down for a century. Its a little expensive but so is this hobby.

• 2 weeks later...

We've discussed this in the past in a somewhat different context. Who told you wool was the best, Audio Note's Peter Qvortrop? I think he uses wool shorn from sheep in New Zealand or something. I know he is a believer in minimal damping and although he has at least one model which uses a sealed enclosure (model K) I don't think his philosophy would apply directly to AR speaker systems.