AR94 resurrection

Martin_H

Hi all,

I've had a pair of AR94 speakers since they were new. I think they are the original model. They have been in various garage / storage spaces for about 30 years since the foams went, but I could never quite bring myself to get rid of them.

This last winter I bit the bullet and got a refoaming kit. I've never done it before but the job turned out to be quite straightforward. I got some fabric and made new socks for them and they sound pretty good. That's all I was planning to do, I didn't want to go down the big upgrade rabbit hole!

I would show pictures but can't seem to be able to upload, maybe it's because I'm new here?

But while I was refoaming I played some tones through them to make sure the cones were nicely centred and noticed that the bass/mid roll-off wasn't working the same on both speakers. I put it to the back of my mind but it keeps coming back, so today I ordered a pair of 100uF capacitors that I can solder in to replace the one(s) that have obviously blown. That ought to improve the lower midrange sound quality a bit.

I can feel that rabbit hole sucking me in...

While I'm doing some work, should I replace the 4uF capacitors that balance out the tweeter sound, just in case? Should I have a go at pulling out the dented tweeter cones?

Also, the finishing touch: anyone know a source for "AR" badges to stick on the front, the original ones got broken and fell off a long, long time ago...

Thanks for any advice!

I love looking at pictures. Especially of things like food, pretty women, pets and AR Speakers. Seriously though try resizing them to 100KB or so. You can also use a image hosting site such as imgur or flicker. Oh and by the way welcome to the best place on the planet for help and opinion about your classic speakers. Hope the caps brings your woofers in line. Like I said  pictures are great especially with AR94 speakers because there were several versions of them.

WbOJR1y.jpg

Welcome Martin